May 5, 2015

Blog Tour: Mystic Indian Series by Rosanne Bittner {Guest Post & Giveaways}



The Guest Post

Many years ago I read an article in a flyer I receive from the Wind River Indian Reservation that was about a stone medicine wheel on the top of Medicine Mountain in the Big Horn Mountains of northern Wyoming. The article fascinated me because no one is certain which Native Americans built this medicine wheel, or even when. At the top of a nearby mountain peak is a stone arrow pointing to the medicine wheel, which I found even more fascinating, because at the time someone created these places out of stones, there were no airplanes. There would be no way to see the arrow pointing to the medicine wheel except from above. Native Americans consider the medicine wheel sacred, believing only spirits from above would see it. There is a central cairn, with spokes coming out to join in a circle of stones so that the entire site looks just like a wagon wheel. 




My husband and I took a trip to see the medicine wheel, and the first time we went there you had to drive up a very dangerous, one-lane (side of the mountain-no guard rail) road to get o the site. The second time we went to see it, the national park service had made a better road, but it goes only part way up and then you have to walk the rest of the way. The wheel itself is now fenced off because of (I call them jerks) people stealing stones from the site. When you go there, you get a chilling feeling of spirituality, as though you have just walked into an ancient mysterious past. And the view on top of Medicine Mountain is SPECTACULAR!!

The moment I read about this stone medicine wheel, I knew I wanted to write a book that would be based around this sacred site. That book is MYSTIC DREAMERS, and on the original hard cover book jacket there is a picture of the actual stone medicine wheel. After that first book I knew I needed to continue the story of Stalking Wolf and Buffalo Dreamer, so I wrote book #2 MYSTIC VISIONS and then #3 MYSTIC WARRIORS, which follows the Sioux nation into the Custer battle. All three books are filled with real Native American history, customs and beliefs, and a good share of mystic spirituality, the third book ending with a very spiritual and mysterious event that (I hope) leaves readers wondering if this really could happen. I personally believe it could.

I am happy to announce that all three of these books, although some are still available in print through Amazon.com, are now available as e-books for all types of e-readers. Enjoy!!

The Mystic Indian Series

Mystic Dreamers
Genre: Historical Western Romance
Release Date: May 12, 2015
Length: 379 Pages

For over a decade, Rosanne Bittner has enchanted her readers with tales of adventure and romance in the times before the White Man settled the West. Now, in the tradition of Kathleen O'Neal Gear and W. Michael Gear, the bestselling author of Song of the Wolf and the Savage Destiny Indian series turns her hand to historical fiction with a wonderful new story of Native America sure to capture you and carry you on an adventure of love and hate, good and evil, life and death.

In 1833, Star Dancer, a Sichangu (Brulé Sioux), is promised in marriage to Stalking Wolf, an Oglala warrior whom she has never met. What begins as a loveless union develops into a moving story of a man and a woman led by powers beyond their control. Dreams, visions, and mystic experiences fill this provocative love story that launches a saga about the Lakota and their first meeting with the White Man.

Praise for Mystic Dreamers:

"Rosanne Bittner is one of the best writers of Native American romance stories and Mystic Dreamers is one of her best efforts to date." --Janelle Taylor, bestselling author of Lakota Dawn

"I'm a great admirer of Rosanne Bittner. Mystic Dreamers is beautifully written." --Loren D. Estleman, author of Thunder City

"Filled with suspense and high emotion." --Booklist



Mystic Visions
Pre-Order: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBook | Kobo Books
Genre: Historical Western Romance
Release Date: May 12, 2015
Length: 352 Pages

In Mystic Dreamers, best-selling author Rosanne Bittner began a compelling saga with the meeting of Buffalo Dreamer, a holy woman, and Rising Eagle, a warrior whose powers were unmatched, for he had been blessed by the Feathered One. Now, in a new story sure to enthrall both new readers and devoted fans, Bittner follows Buffalo Dreamer, Rising Eagle, and their children through the great Indian wars and the settling of the West, where, in addition to the risks and rewards of daily life, they and their Lakota tribe must face the influx of white settlers and soldiers into their lands and into their lives. In Mustic Visions, we experience Buffalo Dreamer's increasingly powerful visions of the bluecoats and a coming war. We learn the fate of Little Big Boy and Never Sleeps, and of Never Sleeps's mother, Fall Leaf Woman. And we meet the one who is destined to lead the Lakota People in their greatest trial ever, Crazy Horse!

Praise for Mystic Visions:

From Publishers Weekly Picking up where she left readers in Mystic Dreamers, the initial volume in this series, Bittner explores the efforts of holy woman Buffalo Dreamer and her warrior husband, Rising Eagle, to fend off encroaching white settlers in the Lakota tribe's Black Hills. The narrative begins in 1836 and spans more than a decade. The heart of the book is the evolving relationship between the Lakota couple as well as the fate of their children, two of whom succumb in a smallpox epidemic introduced by the settlers. Rising Eagle survives smallpox, vowing to avenge his children's deaths. Also central to the story is an Oglala woman who now lives among whites, named Florence. She once loved Rising Eagle, but married an abusive white man, became an alcoholic and gave her son, Little Wolf, to Rising Eagle to raise as his own. When Lakota warriors attack white settlers traveling across buffalo country, Rising Eagle rapes a white woman, Mary Higgins, brings her back as a slave and also captures the woman's 10-year-old blond daughter, whom he renames Yellow Bonnet. Eventually traded back to the white settlers, Mary leaves Yellow Bonnet behind, as well as a newborn son she bears to Rising Eagle, whom Florence, now married to a kind preacher, raises. Bittner's descriptions of Lakota life are impeccably researched, with impressive scenes of visions and ceremonies. But her Lakota characters are all highly idealized, to the point where Bittner justifies Rising Eagle's brutal rape and kidnapping as a culturally viable tactic of war, further portraying the rape victim as weak, hypocritical and self-absorbed. Most of the settlers are treated as one-dimensional perpetrators, while the Lakota are given full range of emotion and spiritual depth. The result is an unbalanced tale stumbling when describing interaction between white and Lakota characters, but bringing a variety of intriguing Native American characters to life. (May)

Copyright 2000 Cahners Business Information, Inc.


Mystic Warriors
Pre-Order: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBook | Kobo Books
Genre: Historical Western Romance
Release Date: May 12, 2015
Length: 367 Pages

The white buffalo is a sacred and holy creature to the Lakota. Buffalo Dreamer, a holy woman, and her husband, Rising Eagle, have not only been blessed to see the white buffalo, they have eaten of its heart and have been told by the sacred beast that as long as the Lakota have the white buffalo hide, all will be well.

But all is not well. White hunters have stolen the sacred white robe and great misfortune has befallen the Lakota. Settlers continue to invade Lakota territory, backed by vicious cavalry forces that massacre women and children. The Lakota are starving and their anger is growing.
Led by Rising Eagle, a great force of Lakota and other tribes wage war upon the white man. Together they battle to regain the land stolen from them, to protect the precious buffalo the white man wantonly destroys, and to search for the sacred white robe.

Praise for Rosanne Bittner:

Rosanne Bittner retains her title as a premier Indian romance writer. . . . Poignant and startling. (Romantic Times on Mystic Visions)

Bittner's descriptions of Lakota life are impeccably researched, with impressive scenes of visions and ceremonies. . . . bringing a variety of intriguing Native American characters to life. (Publishers Weekly on Mystic Visions)

Beautifully written and structured. . . . [Mystic Dreamers] is the West of blood, tears, and transcendent dreams. (Loren D. Estleman, author of The Master Executioner)

Rosanne Bittner's stories are powerful because she creates memorable characters who enlighten readers as they rekindle the magical spark that belonged to the first people to love this land. (Romantic Times on Mystic Dreamers)

Filled with suspense and high emotion, quests and visions, this compelling love story is sure to please Bittner's fans and to win over new converts, especially as sequels are planned. (Booklist on Mystic Dreamers)

About Rosanne Bittner


I’ve been writing for over thirty years and to date have had more than 60 novels published, all about the American West of the 1800’s and Native Americans. I write romance, but not the typical bodice-ripping adventures. My stories are deep love stories, often family sagas told as a series. It is the hero and heroine’s love that holds them together through the trials and tribulations of settling America’s western frontiers. I absolutely love the Rockies, the Tetons, the Sierras, and the wide-open plains, prairies and desert land west of the Mississippi. In my books, I strive to tell the truth about the settling of the West and how it affected our American Indians, as well as the gritty depth of what our brave pioneers suffered in their search for free land and a better life.

I am a member of the Nebraska and Oklahoma Historical Societies, my local southwest Michigan historical society, Women Writing the West, Mid-Michigan Romance Writers of America, the national RWA, National Rifle Association and a local charity group called the Coloma Lioness Club. I help run a family business and love doing things with my three young grandsons. If you visit my Website you’ll see all my titles listed as well as a page that lists all my many writing awards; or you can visit me on Facebook. At either site you will learn news of new books to come as well as reprints of many of my past titles soon to be published in trade paperback and as e-books! 


The Giveaways
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Goodreads Book Giveaway

Do Not Forsake Me by Rosanne Bittner

Do Not Forsake Me

by Rosanne Bittner

Giveaway ends June 09, 2015.
See the giveaway details at Goodreads.
Enter to Win

Novel Book Tours
Share:

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by - We hope you enjoy your visit to the Cafe!

All Rights Reserved - Copyright ©2010 - 2016 Authors' Cafe - Spilling the Beans About Books, Authors & More! Site Design & Maintenance - The Novel Difference & Novel by Design